Orchestra Europa and Scott Ellaway perform Nico Muhly

October 18, 2020 | By | Category: Classical Music and Opera

Orchestra Europa presents a new digital concert series under the banner of the American Orchestra Europa Foundation and made available to home audiences with an ensemble of 10 freshly minted California based Orchestra Europa Fellows, newly graduated from conservatories including Colburn and USC.

The first of these is Wednesday, Oct. 21, at 8 pm (Eastern) 5 pm (Pacific). In this 50-minute concert, Conductor and Artistic Director Scott Ellaway explores Nico Muhly’s Set Me as a Seal for soprano, alto, tenor, bass and piano; the program also includes Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 and other works. The Muhly work features a small group of singers drawn from the L.A. Master Chorale and other local groups.

Tickets are $25 (student and seniors $10) and available by emailing tickets@orchestraeuropafoundation.org.

Earlier in the day a student version screens and is delivered at no cost in cooperation with OpusYou, a world leader in the field of K-12 music education, at 3:30 pm (Eastern) 12:30 pm (Pacific) www.opusyou.com/cinematic-broadcast/set-me-as-a-seal. Lasting 25 minutes, the program features a deep dive exploration of Set Me as a Seal, guiding students and educators through a musical journey, followed by a question and answer session with Ellaway and guests. Students are invited to deepen their exploration further with accompanying online resources.

The second concert is scheduled for Feb. 24 featuring Leonard Bernstein’s Chichester Psalms, and the third concert is scheduled for May 12 featuring Viri Galilael by Patrick Gowers. 

Tickets and more information:

www.orchestraeuropa.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/AOEF-Digital-Concert-Series.pdf 

Leave Comment