A Selective Guide to the Arts in Los Angeles

Jane Brockman and the Lyris Quartet / Photo by Ross/Jack Rutberg Fine Arts

Music & Conversations presents its next concert of chamber music on Saturday, June 6. Listeners arrive at Jack Rutberg’s acoustically divine gallery at 7 p.m. to enjoy the current exhibition and complimentary wine from Casa Torelli Imports. Music by the Lyris Quartet (violinists Alyssa Park and Shalini Vijayan, violist Luke Maurer and cellist Timothy Loo) begins at 8 p.m.¬†Approximately one hour of music, new and old, no intermission. This unique series is produced by Artistic Directors Jane Brockman and Alyssa Park.


Johann Sebastian Bach, Partita No. 2, Chaconne (BWV 1004)

Thomas Parisch, String Quartet No. 1

Jane Brockman, Spring Quartet

Leos Janacek, String Quartet No. 2 “Intimate Letters”

Readings (by actors Chelsea Gonzalez and David Marciano) from the letters of J.S. Bach and Leos Janacek will frame the concert. At the time Janacek was composing his second string quartet, the elderly composer and a young woman had a hot and heavy correspondence. Both were married at the time. Of course, Bach’s letters are on the opposite end of the spectrum.

Culture Spot LA readers can score a pair of free tickets to the June 6 concert. Email editor@culturespotla.com with Music & Conversations in the subject line for a chance to win.

Jack Rutberg Fine Arts is located at 357 N. La Brea Blvd., LA 90036. Tickets are $20. For tickets or more information, visit www.musicandconversations.org.